Thursday, September 30, 2010

Guac day 6


New church on the right, old one on the left
Today we went to more clinics, imagine that. By the way I just added photos to my previous blogs for your viewing pleasure. The first clinic was around and hour away called Xeatzan Bajo. There we set up shop in the old church that was serving as the real church while they built a gigantic new one. However they were building it over the soccer field of previous trips so I had to entertain the kids in the alleyway in between the walls of the new and old churches. Near the end of the clinic more kids got out of school and came to play. We played a game of cabesa ( head) where I would throw a ball at a kid and he would head it back to me. We played that game until it was time for our lunch. We did not make good time for that clinic and left a bit later than we planned. We then traveled ten minutes further away to Chichoy Alto. It started raining, so I did not play with any of the children. Right away Srta and I spotted the gigantic ten feet tall corn. We both got a picture and then went on with the clinic. For this one we all got separate rooms and so there wasn't a lot of communicating between our groups. That clinic just dragged on and the only high point was my glasses with eyes drawn on them with sharpie. There was a few interesting medical things that happened though. One lady told squid that she didn't believe that his prescription would work, so Ann sat down and told that lady whats what. Cyndi gave a man that doubted her a rectal exam. Also a kid came in that at birth did not have one pupal, and as a baby he had a surgery to uncover his pupal. My mom prescribed some +4 in one eye and +1 in the other. Obviously we don't carry those so Dad had to make some of those. Luckily we were able to give him glasses that would work for him. We left that and had a horrible time coming back. It was pouring down rain, dark, foggy, and cold. Lets just say I had a few cups of hot tea when I got back. Oh by the way, Squid got me addicted to tea so we are so getting Mayan cocoa spice tea when I get home.

3 comments:

  1. Good posting, pictures are great. You definitely are a giant in Guatemala.
    Nana

    ReplyDelete
  2. Good posts, good pics Alex. Remind me to never doubt Cyndi! At least not to her face... I'll have to see if I can find some of that tea.

    ReplyDelete
  3. You'll find that the Americano version has less crack. Still, it's good.

    -Dad

    ReplyDelete